Posted by: docdenbow | March 12, 2016

Should I Ditch My Denim?


My wife, the delectable Mrs Denbow, upset me last night. She informed me that the bald patch on the back on the back of my head is increasing in size. She followed up that bombshell by telling me that I’ve done well to get to my age with any hair hair at all. A bit of a double whammy if you ask me. I sat down crestfallen wondering whether I should ditch my denim, get some “proper” trousers and look at Saga weekend breaks. I’ve also realised that my summer plans consist mainly of picking up winter’s dog shit and jet washing the decking in readiness for treating it against rot.

Surely I should be planning something more than that? Okay so I’m not in my prime, but that shouldn’t mean that I should just lay down and die, huh? What I’m getting at is that although I’m not exactly super fit I’m not exactly overweight and with a little effort could get myself into some some kind of physical condition where I could do a bit more with my life than to watch endless brain rotting TV and occupying what’s left of my mind on the possibility of 4 people on the telly of actually Finding Bigfoot. What I’m getting at is the simple fact is that sometimes I feel that I live my life as a voyeur. I seem incapable of joining in. Although if you you met me you would not believe it, I’m really quite shy. I don’t take risks, I don’t challenge myself. Bottom line is I’m not a good “join-er in-er.” I’m incapable of just muscling in on something and I really I wish I was, but I guess that I’m too old to change now.

Right, now I’m going to do something. I’m going to put an old pair of jeans on and go and let the dog take me for a walk. It’ll do us both good. Better than sitting here on my arse Tweeting.

Speak later,

Denbow

Responses

  1. You’re not washed up yet Denbow old boy.

    As for not taking risks, it wasn’t all that long ago that you went to a nudist camp….that’s a pretty ballsy thing to do (excuse the pun).

    Life is too short to sit writing about what could have been or what you should be doing. Get yourself out there, and experience something new.

    I turned 34 last week, so decided to do something a little different – climbed a bloody mountain. Enjoyed it more than I thought I would, and am planning to climb another on the weekend.

    Summers come and go way too fast….get out there and make memories.


Leave a Reply

Categories

