Posted by: docdenbow | March 6, 2016

Streaming Is Killing Music


I was in the shower this morning when our dog started to go nuts. Apparently there was someone was knocking at the door. It was the local chapter of Jehovah’s Witnesses I later found out when they returned for another go at converting me the Ways Of The Lord. Well, as per usual I accepted the little pamphlet with good grace as I cannot find it in my heart to be rude to them, but I wish there was a way that I could get them to leave me be. I have no desire to enter some heavy duty philosophical debate as there would clearly be no winner. If I answered the door naked, perhaps they’d just bugger off and leave me alone. Maybe I’ll try it  next time.

You see I have no problem with religion, politics or lifestyle choices for that matter. However, I do object when people foist their ideas and opinions on me uninvited. Take this crap blog for example. It’s choc full of my ideas and ideals and opinions, but if you think I’m droning on or you’re disinterested in what I’m saying then close the browser window. I’m not looking for fans or converts. I’m not the messiah, I’m simply looking to entertain and give food for thought.Anyway, after that preamble, what am trying to write about here? Well, I’ve written about all manner of crap when this blog was updated constantly and I used to post sometimes up to 5 times in a week and I think I’ve cut the wrists of my inspiration and simply bled out leaving nothing more than a pallid corpse.

What with is happening in the world you’d think I’d have no problem finding something to write about. Not so as basically I couldn’t give a stuff. Most of the things that happen in the world have bugger all effect on me, this poxy EU referendum for example. Do I really care whether we leave the “Common Market”? No I don’t really and that’s because I am crushingly ordinary. I guess I’m part of the “hard working family” section part of the economy that no one, and I do mean no one actually gives a flying fuck about. Politician upon politician say that they’re going to look after us, do they pet. Well no they don’t. So there. All I care about right now, right now, is whether my delivery from Yodel is going to turn up anytime soon so I can go out. Mind you can’t say I’m exactly chuffed that Yodel has started to ignore my Tweets after an excellent initial response time. Bastards.

At the moment moment I’m listening to John Fogerty’s Centrefield album on Spotify – which is brilliant by the way, think Creedence Clearwater Revival only better! As much as I love this album, I can’t but think that I’m shovelling soil onto the coffin that contains rock music by playing music on Spotify. It’s not just Spotify. Whole albums are uploaded to YouTube, in Newsgroups, available on Bit Torrent and more places I guess. Music is dead I’m afraid. No one really cares anymore, it’s gone and pretty soon it’ll be a distant memory. I don’t want to sound like a “it was better in my day” type of old geezer, but I really do think think that music is important

.Shame nobody else does

Denbow

Responses

  1. Haha Doc. What is Spotify? Some mechanism to take the guts clean out of music! I hate .mp3 like i would hate a photocopy of the Mona Lisa passed off as the original. The same with Jehova Witness dogma that takes the guts clean out of spiritual living, a poor facsimile of life on earth. J.W.s have been born and died waiting for the messiah to return, as if he’s bothered, look what happened last time lol. Nekkid sounds like a good tactic.. Peace Bro’


Leave a Reply

Categories

