Posted by: docdenbow | December 20, 2015

“……It’s Christmas time, there’s no need to be afraid………….”


“……It’s Christmas time, there’s no need to be afraid………….”

Yeah right, no need to be afraid. No need at all unless of course you were one of those hardy souls braving Black Friday or more latterly going to shops in retail parks and town and city centres to buy your array of useless tat that you foist on sundry friends, relatives and acquaintances in this season to be jolly. As you may possibly infer I am not the greatest fan of Christmas, especially since my kids have grown up and fled the nest leaving me and Mrs D to stare fearfully at each other  whilst hiding away from the big bad world.

I really hate the rampant consumerism associated with Christmas. Hate it, hate it, hate it! Just because something is shiny and glittery idiots are happy chucking £££’s at retailers to satisfy the lusts that are propagated by peer pressure and adverts. These adverts are there to convince the feeble minded that somehow they’ll be cooler, more attractive and will have a better life if they spend, spend, spend.I’m no different to be honest. You see I was nearly seduced by a MacBook.

I was in PC World when this vision of loveliness tried to dazzle with its illuminated keyword and beautiful display. It was slim and was whispering huskily,

“Buy me Denbow, buy me. Take me home and caress my keys.”

As a man past his prime it’s not difficult for me to fantasise of being seduced by one of flawless beauty, especially if they have pert icons that quiver and bounce. In spite of being invited to wrap her up to take home by none other than Mrs. D I managed to exercise self control and resist. I went left the store sadly thinking  of what might have been had we met at some other time.  Besides I have moved on and found a deep down dirty and altogether more innovative way of life called Linux which is an alternative operation system for a computer.

Linux Mint 11

Linux Mint 11 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The thing is I like a challenge. I don’t like things to beat me. I like to learn. So whilst on a superficial level Linux is similar to windows and Mac underneath the skin it’s different. Mind you if all do with your laptop is go on the Internet for Facebook, Twitter, shopping and reading this fabulous blog then it does the job perfectly. However, you can fiddle around with Linux to make it look and behave exactly how you you want it to. You can make it look pretty cool! by the way I’ve written this post on my laptop using Linux Mint!

There’s tons of software available that will let you do all of your usual stuff. Oh yes and it’s free, as is all the software. No more bent versions of Microsoft compatible products! After lots of thought and comparing various versions of Linux I opted for Linux Mint 17.3. There’s so many different versions of Linux out it’d melt your brains to check them all out, but for a beginner Mint and its big brother Ubuntu are a perfect place to start. I haven’t used Ubuntu for a while so I’ll tell you a bit about mint. First and foremost it installed on my laptop from a USB stick in about 15 minutes, yes you read that right, 15 minutes. No more tedious buggering around waiting for continuous reboots as it does when you bung Windows onto a computer. It’ll breathe new life into that old laptop you have and make it more than usable again. You’d be surprised just how quickly it will run, and how much pre installed software comes with it.

Right thus endeth the geek speak…….

Long standing readers of this blog will be aware of my more than somewhat unhealthy obsession with the TV programme “Finding Bigfoot.” This obsession has waned a little over the months since I stopped posting here, but I have found something else and dare I say it something better. I write of course of “Mountain Monsters.”  The title is a bit of a giveaway, I know that, but it did rather intrigue me. what mountain did the title refer to and what were the monsters? This required further investigation

I’ll tell you all about it when I post again.

*By the way, if you’re a Linux geek don’t ask me loads of questions that I won’t be able to answer, but if you haven’t taken the plunge let me know I’d be more than happy to share my experiences with you.*

Denbow

Leave a Reply

Categories

