Posted by: docdenbow | March 11, 2015

Starring Martin Shaw As…


My laptop is currently hors de combat so I’m writing this blog post as best I can on borrowed and equipment. Depending on how long it takes for said laptop to be returned to me, there’s a distinct possibility of me having to queue several blog posts until I’m able to publish them. I thought that you may like to know that. Anyway so while the lappie is away Denbow is struggling to get things down on *paper*, which is odd really. When I have the means to write, I have no idea what to write and when I’ve nothing to write on…..well I’m sort of bursting with ideas – ish.

I’ve been thinking – always dangerous – about television, or more specifically about what it is that I watch on television. I have had manic yet mercifully brief enthusiasm for the likes of Storage Wars, Pawn Stars, Salvage Hunters and even Finding Bigfoot. I’ve found Dog The Bounty Hunter’s adventures to be gripping and have keenly followed the trials and tribulations of Les Gold and his family in Hardcore Pawn. I’ve watched repeated episodes of the The Jeremy Kyle Show.All in all my choice of TV programmes show clearly that I’m a moron.

So why am I telling you this? What has prompted me to unburden my innermost feelings and soul to you, dear reader? I fear that because I watch TV programmes of dubious or spurious merit that the 42″ beast is eroding what’s left of what intellect I have left. In recent weeks I have resolved to avoid these aforementioned TV programmes, but I have to concede that I have fallen off the metaphorical wagon a couple of times. I also have to confess that I have only succeeded in replacing one addiction with another.

The cast of New Tricks (top left: Alun Armstro...

(Photo credit:Wikipedia)

It all began innocently enough as these things often do. It began with an episode of “New Tricks” a police show featuring crinkly old ex coppers as portrayed by Alun Armstrong, James Bolam and Dennis Waterman. They work to solve “cold cases” Their boss, a Superintendent, was portrayed by the positively delicious Amanda Redman. I watched the odd episode on whatever Godforsaken channel it was on and then came the TiVo series link. Before I knew where I was, I found myself mainlining three or more episodes a day. I tried to shake myself, break away from the talons of Supt Pullman and Co. but in doing so I fell into the clutches of Judge John Deeds. This brilliant piece of television finds Martin Shaw in the title role portraying a judge called John Deeds. Then there’s “Inspector George Gently” in which Martin Shaw portrays a policeman called Inspector George Gently. This is set in the 1960s which gives chance after chance to look for continuity errors and stare longingly at old cars.I added to this this heady cocktail episodes of “Rebus” featuring Ken Stott and his magnificent proboscis. His gruff Scottish manner and his ability to smoke, drink and be miserable at the same time was impressive. All of this was topped off by occasional foul language which gave me plenty of opportunity to tut and shake my head. I was then seduced by re runs of “Midsomer Murders” and “Lewis”, only to find that I would remember the identity of the murderer in the last 15 minutes of the programme, thus wasting 90 minutes of my time on this mortal coil each and every time.

And now I’m sinking deeper and deeper into the abyss of televisual despair for the other day I watched 2 episodes of “Doc Martin” which is about the life of a doctor in Cornwall. I found my finger hovering over the series link button on the telly box thingy and, I am ashamed to admit, finally succumbed, Diana Rigg’s “Mrs Bradley Mysteries” already set to record. To make matters worse I was idly perusing the *On Demand* bit of my TiVo telly box whatsit when I came across “Whitechapel” a detective programme starring Rupert Penry-Jones and Phil Davis as a mismatched pair of detectives. (It also stars Martin Shaw as Whitechapel -just kidding!) I munched greedily through the first 3 series in 2 evenings and have been left ready to pounce on the 4th series when it appears.

Anyhow, I have come to the conclusion that although these programmes are undemanding fiction, they at least don’t try to pretend that they are anything else.

Ciao for Now

Denbow

Responses

  1. I love Dog The Bounty Hunter too.

  2. I have just discovered the new tricks programme oh dear and have to admit I quite like it BUT Jeremy Kylie … NEVER loving it


Leave a Reply

Categories

