Posted by: docdenbow | March 3, 2015

That’s Where It All Falls Apart


There are people for whom a simple hobby or pastime becomes an all consuming passion. Of course things other than hobbies can become all consuming passions. Good causes, bad causes, politics and religion can all create passions in us all that can divorce us from reason. Me, I don’t have any all consuming passions and have few, if any, hobbies. Writing this blog is perhaps the closest thing that I have ever had to a hobby and from time to time it has been an all consuming passion. However, I don’t spend my life encouraging and cajoling other people to become bloggers, writers or scribblers. If someone asks my opinion I’ll gladly offer it and then, and only then, I will encourage people to write. It would be exactly the same if someone asked me about my thoughts on them running a marathon, if I felt it was appropriate then I would offer encouragement and help where required. Then same principle applies, I suppose, to someone getting the writing bug.

English: Writing «Shit_happens»

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

However, I’m not writing about writing per se here. Neither am I talking about religion or politics. I’m not talking about anything that could be construed in any way as divisive. What I’m trying to say is that certain things that people do to occupy their time gives rise to a kind of Messianic zeal where their calls to recruit others to their pastimes or hobbies or lifestyle makes me uneasy on occasions. Laid out before you are the benefits, the joy, the satisfaction and the general feeling of wellbeing that this hobby or whatever may bring. Rarely are the frustrations, difficulties and sheer bloody misery is mentioned.

You see I think that you should only do something because you want to do it – obviously I’m talking the hobby/pastime thing here. It’s no good to be sat kicking your heels waiting for something to happen when you really need to make it happen yourself. I guess that I’m talking about a virtual bucket list here and that we live in a world full of opportunities so we should all try to take advantage of at least some of them. If, for example, you’ve always wanted to learn to play the guitar then nip down to the local music shop and grab your self a cheap acoustic and look on YouTube for lessons. You may never become great, but you may find you enjoy it, enjoy the process. In order to satisfy your dreams you don’t necessarily need lots of money you just need to have an open mind, a lust for life and the certain knowledge that it can all be over in the blink of an eye.

I’ll tell you a little story, shall I? About this time last year I heard this woman, the same sort of age as me, who was having some kind of mental difficulties. Panic attacks and so on. These episodes resulted in several visits to the hospital and her GP until she was finally diagnosed. She was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I really don’t know the woman, just her story, but her story shook me to the core. Here was I, a reasonably intelligent chap, allowing my mind to pile waves of misery upon me and making me think of everything as futile and myself as worthless.

Then I made a decision, a decision that I would try to seize opportunities that came my way and if they weren’t coming then I’d do my best to make things happen. As I started to clear the junk out of my mind for no apparent reason I thought about my body and of how physically, with age, everyone starts to gradually fall to pieces. I concluded that as there’s little that I could do about it so it’s best to be happy in your skin, both literally and metaphorically and that on the whole I was. However, I felt that I needed to prove it and learn to come out of my shell and teach myself confidence, body confidence and self confidence.

That’s how I ended up at a Naturist Club, in effect testing myself in a way that I’d never tested myself before. I have to say without any modesty (no pun intended) I passed with flying colours.

What I’m getting at is that doing something I’d never done before, something I found incredibly challenging, empowered me to the extent that now I feel that there isn’t much that I can’t do if I set my mind to it.

That’s where it all falls apart.

Ciao For Now,

Denbow

Leave a Reply

Categories

