Posted by: docdenbow | December 28, 2014

Chip Papers


English: Moore's Chip Shop A fish and chip sho...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, it’s that time of year where we all look back at what has happened in the preceding 12 months. Major news events, deaths of the famous, infamous and influential. Stuff like that, you know? You’re also supposed to take stock of your life and work out what the year has taught you and make plans and resolutions for the year to come. I’m not going to do that, mainly because I’m useless at making plans or resolutions and I’d rather left information percolate and bubble in my mind rather than concentrate hard on past events. Somebody once said words to the effect that today’s news is tomorrow’s chip papers and I view turning over 2014 to be pretty futile.

As I’m not going going to write about 2014 what, I hear you ask, am I going to write about? Should I revisit some of my past popular subjects like daft articles about NASA, Bigfoot or silly bits of American reality TV. Should I write about people’s hang-ups about the way they look and their body image? I could write about politics I suppose, but all of those subjects have been covered to a greater or lesser extent, so what now?

In the past few weeks I have kind of hit a “writers block” and feel that my mind has gone into some kind of torpor when it comes to writing. I’ve also felt that I have bugger all to say without repeating myself. Next month sees the 4th birthday of this blog and in those 48 months and nearly 350 posts I feel that I have lost something and also gained something along the way. The trouble is that I really don’t know what the “somethings” actually are and it’s those “somethings” that are stopping me from been able to write as frequently as I used to.

I do know that after some vile comments left here for me to read did rather take the wind from my sails, so much so that I took this blog offline completely for a couple of days and to be honest I think that is when I began to find expressing myself here more difficult. I’ve always written candidly about ME and found and find that thinly veiled threats made me wonder about baring all. I was called a deviant, pervert, fetishist and much more besides by those who sought me out on Twitter, Instagram and here, so I’ve been asking myself is it worth it?

Well is it? If I stop sharing my thoughts, opinions and little tales here those bastards have won, right? I have enjoyed the whole blog thing for 4 years and gained a great deal of personal pride in the simple fact that I’ve had an outlet that people seem to actually read. It strikes me that this nasty abusive commenting business is not unlike being shouted down to if you’re having a kind of intellectual argument, sort “he who shouts loudest must be right.”  They’ve been trying to make me give up my own little insignificant corner of the internet, but though I’ve been bloodied and bruised they have failed – completely. This Denbow is going to carry on with this blog and write complete and utter tosh most of the time and keep anyone who reads this happy that they are not me.

Anyway For Now,

That’s It

Denbow

Leave a Reply

Categories

