Posted by: docdenbow | May 14, 2014

Jump From The Rut Of Being Predictable


People I work with read my blog. Do I care? Well yes I do, and for a few reasons, amongst which are it does make me aware that “real” people actually read my and it makes me think that I should keep schtum about some things. However, with 300 plus postings on this blog over just about 3 years, it’s a tad late to be thinking of changing my style completely unless I was going to sit here reviewing CDs and books Nick+Drake+-+Bryter+Layter+-+1st+-+LP+RECORD-430139constantly. *Yawn* That’s not my style. My style is to write what I think and just go with it. A few months (or was it weeks?) ago I was haranguing the Ukips for being a bunch of jerks and when I felt that I’d said enough and the anger subsided then I moved onto something else. Are there Ukip supporters amongst the people I work with? Who cares, they’re free to support them if they wish – I just think they’re swivel eyed loonies.

Anyway, because people I know personally read this blog I do feel forced to write cryptically on occasions or to not write what I want to write about, and that adds greatly to the censorship that I impose upon myself. However, it seems that my blog life has encroached on my real life in more ways than one. I have recently written a few posts about body image and nudity and it it appears that has caused a few people some mirth as they have seen that people who are naturists/nudists commenting on the posts.
“Are you going to get your clothes off then, Denbow?” they ask.
“Why not?” I reply.”
“Nutter,” they think.
That’s that they would think, but getting your clothes off in public is well…..different isn’t it?

Unconventional maybe?

Convention. Great word that is – convention. Con-ven-tion, lovely. I’m not talking about something like a Star Trek convention, I’m talking about social norms, conventionality I suppose. It’s still a great word, great to wrap your chops around whilst you consider its meaning.

Con-ven-tion, tastes better than a Mars Bar (Hershey Bar folks) Con-ven-tion. Security, mmm, snuggle warm in your cloak of conventionality.

Well yeah, tastes great to you (whoever you are) but to midlife crisis man (me) sometimes it’s positively rancid, poisonous, vile. It feels like an apple that looks great until you take a bite and that you have a mouthful of maggots to spit out whilst your stomach decides to eject any food that you’ve eaten in the last 24 hours leaving you feeling as if you been kicked and punched. That’s what conventionality feels like to me sometimes. The horrible constricting thought that you cannot, or not are supposed to, step outside the pigeonhole that your station in life has assigned to you.

Loch Ness from Fort Augustus  Scotland

Loch Ness

Some people accept that. Me? I think it sucks…..big time. Do I accept it? Reluctantly; but I truly wish that I didn’t have to. I watch programmes on the TV about pretty ordinary folks doing extraordinary things. Well, extraordinary to me anyway, and I find myself becoming resentful and jealous. To give you a sense of what I mean, I was watching this programme about the Loch Ness Monster and they were talking to this raving lunatic who spent all of his spare time (and trust me he had lots) living in a crappy caravan looking out for Nessie (which doesn’t/cannot exist). Sadly for me I looked upon him with a tinge of sadness as I wished I could join him.

Then there’s the Squatch hunters, I’m jealous of them because they’re living outside of the usual boundaries and I’m stuck. Don’t get me wrong I don’t want to spend the rest of my life searching for something that’s not there or tramping around the USA with the Finding Bigfoot team screeching in the dark. Mind you it would be a hell of a lot of fun to try it out once wouldn’t it? There’s the key to to what I’m talking about. I’m not unhappy with the life I have, but sometimes I really do think that there must be more. I think there are more experiences to be had and with my family commitments and ties I cannot reconcile in my own mind whether my desire to do something different is just plain selfish.

Am I alone in thinking like this? Am I?

I think my problem is that I’m a thinker and a talker and not a “do-er.” It’s no good thinking about something, even planning it in your head. Anticipating your fears and feelings, joy and apprehension and then telling the world what you’re going to do unless you follow it through and bloody well do it. So where does that leave me? Do I write out a so-called bucket list and try to tick each item off one by one; or should I fix my sights on just one thing and remain focused on that until I’ve had that experience?

All I know is that I want to jump from the rut of being predictable and acting within the boundaries of what people expect of me. I need to fill my days with more positive things than I do and use the time that I have to myself to do somethings that are out and out fun.

Yup, I think that’s the way forward, work hard and play hard.

Ciao For Now

Denbow

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Responses

  1. Denbow, as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone, then just crack on with whatever you desire to do. Don’t worry what others think, what your work colleagues or friends/family say with all the ‘jovial banter’. If you can’t laugh at or with yourself…Laugh along with them knowing you are doing all that you want to do, whilst most are probably just plodding along in their small worlds.

    Just get out there and enjoy life to its fullest Denbow, its a very finite time we all have on this planet. It’s best to go out with a BANG, rather than a whimper; having done all you wish to do.

    be careful though that you don’t become to unpredictable, that it becomes predictable! 😉

    Now get out there and do it! Do it all.

    • I have come to the conclusion after listening to the blunt comment from our mutual friend M that this no big deal, so just do it!

  2. Predictable, conventional, complacent, comfortable, ensconced, contained, in a box. I’ve been there too, I have the t-shirt, it says ‘squared’. The photo of Loch Ness made me lustful to be naked there, for just for twenty minutes, to drink it all in. Have you had your naked day yet? Record shop owner?, then you’ll know that just as with the Acid Queen, after twenty minutes you’ll never be the same.

    • This is an experience that I want to enjoy, yes get out of the “box”

      The day will come in July…..or if opportunity arises sooner

    • I’m hoping as the day of my visit draws closer that I don’t find a pathetic excuse not to pay the place a visit…..

  3. In the words of Yoda, ‘Do or do not. There is no try’


Leave a Reply

Categories

