Posted by: docdenbow | May 4, 2014

Dress To Impress?


“Dress to impress.” I haven’t seen or heard that expression for a long time and it popped into my head yesterday. What on earth does it mean? The big question here who is one trying to impress and perhaps more to the point, why? I seem to remember seeing it when their were ads trying to get you to visit a night club or a posh bar or back in my late teens and early 20’ a fledging wine bar. Why couldn’t advertisers be a bit more specific? I gather that “dress to impress” usually means no denim, no tee shirts with slogans on – you know that kind of deal. As I am an old git perhaps that doesn’t apply anymore as the last time I visited a night club was in the last century.

Interior Nightclub Design | LED Lighting Techn...

(Photo credit: I-5 Design & Manufacture)

It always puzzled me that if I wanted to go in a night club I could wear any old cheap and frequently trousers but Levis which in the UK have always cost a small fortune would mean I there was no way that I’d be able to cross the threshold. Did the enforcers of these rules think that wearing Levi 501s turned me into some kind of thug? If someone could afford 501s then the last thing they were likely to be is a thug. They’d more likely be robbed my some morons wearing cheap clothes who coveted high quality denim.

Mark Twain

Mark Twain

What I’m getting at here – and I’m usually getting at something – are Mark Twain’s words actually true?

“Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society”

Well it’s said as soon as somebody looks at you within a few seconds they have decided what type of person you are by the way appear and this is especially true in job interviews. So just how important are nice clothes in general society and having “taste” whatever that may mean? I certainly think that when you’re young in search of friends and romance then the way you dress is important, perhaps it shouldn’t be but it is. Even when we’re married or have partners then we all still make an effort to look good. We buy the latest fashions, get hair styled all of which shows you care for yourself and your “significant other.” I’ve heard people say in different circumstances “I don’t like the look of him” or in TV cop dramas “he’s acting suspiciously” and that is usually nothing at all to do with the way that people are dressed. It’s all down to body language, you know the way people carry themselves and going for a job interview in a cheap suit (if that’s all you have) would probably make little difference if your deportment conveys confidence.

The last 500 words or so have really been me thinking out loud so to speak and I still haven’t decided whether an Armani suit would make a better impression at a job interview than one from Marks And Spencer. To be honest I really think that you can be overdressed and perhaps people should really think long and hard about how much they spend on individual items of clothes.

I’ve read that naturists don’t decide what people are like at first glance. Does that mean that they are different to the rest of the population? Well, that I don’t know and wouldn’t know given that I have never been to a naturist club. How do naturists decide what people are like? It’s human nature to decide pretty quickly as instinctively we need to identify potential threats. I’m going to take a wild shot in the dark here, I’m probably wrong but this is what I think. Because a naturist site is a safe environment everyone is aware that there is no physical threat. The newcomer is treated with kindness and warmth and respect. I guess that the newcomer would do likewise. At the end of the day there’s just a pack of naked apes going about their leisure as they normally would except they’re naked and not trying to impress with their material possessions.

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the colour of their skin, but by the content of their character. ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

Ciao For Now,

Denbow

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Categories

