Posted by: docdenbow | April 14, 2014

I Think More Than I Want To Think


Robert Plant

Robert Plant

 

“Oh let the sun beat down upon my face, stars to fill my dream
I am a traveller of both time and space, to be where I have been
To sit with elders of the gentle race, this world has seldom seen
They talk of days for which they sit and wait and all will be revealed”

 

Whereas people some sit and read poetry and quote the verses that are written, I’ve never really read poetry and have little inclination to start (apart from Karina’s) as to me the lyrics to some songs are just as evocative. Poetry stirs great emotion in some people, for me it’s usually songs. I am a pleb though. Although the lines shown above could be interpreted as drug induced fantasy posing, they strike a chord with me. What Robert Plant was thinking when he wrote those lyrics I really have no idea and maybe it’s just a hippy drippy philosophy and to honest I really don’t care. It’s just the imagery of the lyrics that I find inspiring making me feel uplifted. Quite what it is about this I really don’t know…but there you are and this is the version I love the best.

The song was originally released on the album Physical Graffiti back when Iwas a mere pup back in February 1975. Track 3 on Side 2 of a double album set with a very cool sleeve. I bought it in Birmingham Market for the princely sum of £3.50 and to this day I think it’s Zeppelin’s best. I’m not going to give you a track by track review here, but if you want own a “proper” Led Zep album as opposed to a compilation then this is it. At the other end of the spectrum there’s a lovely little song called “Down By The Seaside” that was another favourite. Was? Still is! A lot more laid back and more next door neighbour friendly.

There are other songs that strike me too. Well, not so much the song but more the way that it’s performed. An example of that is “Lilac Wine” by Jeff Buckley. Until I heard his album Grace I’d never taken much notice of thesong. I knew the Elkie Brookes version, but saw it as a bit MOR, you know music for people who don’t like music. Having already been mightily impressed by the first 3 tracks, I was about to skip track 4  when I thought “Nah! Let’s give it a go, it may not be rubbish.” To say that there were almost tears in my eyes when the song ended would really not be overstating the case. Why? The lyrics are not that great, but as Pete Townshend wrote in “Join Together,” “It’s the singer not the song that makes the music move along…..”

There are of course others, many others in fact as I suppose I’m just a sentimental old fool. You lot reading this are quite privileged because as a rule I wouldn’t share my likes and dislikes and what moves me to such an extent. Most rock music is far removed from art, but there are some songs and albums and performers who deserve the same respect as given to the “jazz greats.”

Mind you for all I’ve written here right now…..

“When my fist clenches, crack it open
Before I use it and lose my cool
When I smile, tell me some bad news
Before I laugh and act like a fool”

So Long……………..

Denbow

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Categories

