Posted by: docdenbow | February 16, 2014

Katie And Me


Browsing the World Wide Interweb I came across something that I found interesting. No, seriously what I found was very interesting. At least it is to me. I’m an avid user, if you didn’t know, of Twitter. I am @docdenbow – my Tweets are invariably boring except for the ReTweets from @Wytchfinder_Gen . I follow a lot of Twitter accounts, some for the information they give, newspapers and the like, some that share a common interest such as Wolverhampton Wanderers and some for the pure entertainment value. @Wytchfinder_Gen falls into that that category as does @kthopkins.

If you didn’t know @kthopkins is the Twitter presence of Katie Hopkins. To say that Ms Hopkins is a woman that divides opinion doesn’t give the whole story. The views that she expresses in her column in The Sun and via Twitter are acerbic, cruel and sometimes very funny. She often states what many of us are thinking, but are perhaps too tactful to express. I do wonder whether this intolerant, yet witty, “jolly hockey sticks” woman is a persona adopted merely to court publicity and to make money. On the other hand is this a real part of Ms Hopkins’ psyche?

In other words is she really like that?

Well, in my pompous and “I know it all” opinion is she is playing a part, a caricature of herself real self. Ms Hopkins is an intelligent woman. Her bio tells us that. She is also a stunningly (un)successful businesswoman. Stunningly. But….she needs to put food on the table. So she has morphed herself into rent-a-gob.

The interesting thing that I read was about Ms Hopkins wasn’t the usual hatchet job, in fact as articles go it’s a bit thin. No matter, it was the headline and the beginning of the piece that grabbed my attention.

“Katie Hopkins has revealed she suffers from epilepsy and has been hospitalised 26 times in the last 9 months.”

Hmm, interesting that. If that is true that means Ms Hopkins has been to hospital as the result of a seizure an average of 2.8 times per month. Her consultant is clearly not doing his job. Given that Ms Hopkins states alternatively that she didn’t complete her officer training at Sandhurst due to having a seizure or she did complete it, (depending on what story you believe) then how long has she been having seizures?

In The Guardian she states

“When I have a fit at night, my arms come out. They dislocate. So I have to go into hospital to have them relocated. That’s happened 26 times in the last nine months. So we all have crap to deal with in our lives. I’m hard with myself. Get on with it. Move on. Get your arms put back in.”

Admirable sentiments I’m sure, but as Katie is a member, as I am, of that exclusive club of epilepsy sufferers it may explain a lot about her (as it does about me) The fact that she has shoulder injuries during a seizure strongly suggest that she has myoclonic seizures and reading between the lines perhaps whilst sleeping. Maybe not but she really does need to get a second opinion from a different consultant. Different meds may help. I guess Katie manages her condition her way. Anyway I’m drifting from the point here.

Let’s think about me and Katie, eh?

Through the 20th century, many writers in the field of psychiatry referred to “the epileptic personality,” an syndrome thought to include explosive impulsivity, a tendency to prolong interactions with others) and egocentricity. Some thought that this syndrome was the result of underlying neurologic factors, but others felt that these personality traits represented a distinct form of epilepsy in themselves. Some felt psychoanalytic therapy was the most appropriate treatment for this condition. A shrink? Are we, me and Katie loonies?

Dr. Norman Geschwind put forward the theory of this “personality disorder” to the neurological community. He felt that a number of specific personality characteristics were frequently seen in patients with temporal lobe epilepsy and that they were characteristic of such patients. These traits included deepened emotions, circumstantial thought (overly detailed, with delay in getting to the point), increasing concern with philosophical or religious beliefs, and a change in sexual behaviour. Dr. Geschwind and a colleague published these observations in a major journal in 1975.

There are 18 behavioural features:

  • Emotionality
  • Mania
  • Depression
  • Guilt
  • Humorlessness
  • Altered sexual interest
  • Aggression
  • Anger and hostility
  • Hypergraphia (excessive writing)
  • Religiosity
  • Philosophical interest
  • Sense of personal destiny
  • Hypermoralism
  • Dependency
  • Paranoia
  • Obsessionalism
  • Circumstantiality
  • Viscosity

Now I recognize in myself several of those features, does that make me crazy, or a victim of of my epileptic condition?

I wonder if Katie would admit to having many of those traits?

I’d be interested to find out…………

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Categories

