Posted by: docdenbow | January 25, 2014

Faux-Naif? I Just Know Ukip Has Got It Wrong


In my life I have been called many things, some nice and some not so nice. However, in all my years I have never been referred to as “ faux-naïf.” I was called  “ faux-naïf” in a comment on this blog about an article I had written concerning Ukip. As Ukip doesn’t really figure large in my life,

UKIP Supporters

I may or may not reply to the comment. We’ll see. However I came across an article that points out the shortcomings of Ukip much better than I ever could, so if you want to read something really insightful about Ukip and Mr Farage, have a look at this from The Huffington Post. Huff Post Farage

Back to the “ faux-naïf” bit. I was pretty flattered as a matter of fact to be referred to in this way. Having looked it up I found that it means

  • appearing or seeking to appear simple and unsophisticated: a faux-naïf narration

  • a person who pretends to be naïve

Well, the gentleman who referred to me as “ faux-naïf” missed the mark somewhat. He appears to perceive me as a heavyweight political agitator who went to St Catharine’s College, Cambridge with Jeremy Paxman or at least something like that. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am what I am which is a rather uneducated ex-grammar school chap with 7 O Levels, and a Higher National Diploma in Business Studies. I’m not even well read or have succeeded in being upwardly mobile. I made no money in the 1980s and voted apathetic at the last General Election. My life experiences are limited, I’ve had a succession of crap jobs, a borderline drink problem, epilepsy and smoked way too way many fags. You see I am not “ faux-naïf,” no sir I am the Real Deal. Uneducated and unqualified to have a reasoned opinion on any matters of any worth or importance.

So why being given the epithet “ faux-naïf” make me feel flattered?

It appears that I have at last broken free of the yoke of intellectual snobbery, I am now in a position to express my opinions and have them taken seriously or dismissed as the ranting of an uneducated, self loathing, frustrated loser via the magic of a WordPress Blog. I can  be the voice of the “ faux-naïf.”  I can gather together those that see the world through childlike eyes and give them a simplistic answer to their problems and their ills.

“When we allow freedom ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual:

Free at last! Free at last!

Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

Martin Luther King

I think that I would face serious opposition if I were to lead the  “ faux-naïf” in that manner for a group of individuals has beaten me to the metaphorical punch. Their mantra diametrically opposes that.

UK Independance Party STK125T

Ladies and gentlemen, let me introduce Ukip and quotes from its membership as featured and collected by The Daily Mirror.

Daily Mirror  18 May 2013

Ukip’s Chris Pain, leader of the opposition at Lincs Council and the party’s East Midlands regional chairman, wrote: “Have you noticed that if you ­rearrange the letters in ‘illegal ­immigrants’, and add just a few more letters, it spells, ‘Go home you free-loading, benefit-grabbing, resource-sucking, baby-making, non-English-speaking ********* and take those other hairy-faced, sandal-wearing, bomb-making, camel-riding, goat-********, raghead ******** with you.’”

Mr Pain has also ­objected to foreign doctors working in the NHS.

Last May he posted a story about a Hungarian medic who bungled an operation on a four-year-old boy in Manchester, and wrote: “We don’t want them taking all the jobs in the local community and we certainly don’t want them working in our hospitals!”

Peter Entwistle, party chairman in Bury, Greater Manchester, labelled President Barack Obama a Muslim, writing: “I bet he’s a closet ‘Imam’ as well!

“If I ever see him on a Greyhound bus wearing a rucksack, I’m getting off!!”

Mr Entwistle laughed when confronted about his President Obama bus comments, saying: “I don’t think I’d be the only one getting off.”

The party’s deputy chairman in Scotland, Misty Thackeray, “liked” a Facebook group claiming “paedophilia is part of Islamic tradition”.

He also praised far-right Dutch politician Geert Wilders, a self-­confessed “hater of Islam”.

Recommending Mr Wilders’ new book, he said: “Geert is great …(peace be upon him.. lol) ..!”

Meanwhile Tiggs Keywood-­Wainwright, a Ukip councillor in Boston, Lincs, complained about mosques being built in “quintessentially English” Cambridge. “Is nowhere sacred for the Brits in Britain any more?” she wrote.

“Bottom line is we have too many muslims in this country!”

Mr Pain said the comments on his Facebook pages were “not my original posts or writings”, claiming his ­account had been hacked.

Mr Thackeray refused to comment on “this ridiculous nonsense”. He said Mr Wilders was a “legally, democratically-elected politician”.

Ms Keywood-Wainwright admitted she “probably” regretted some of her remarks.

She claimed she meant there were too many Muslims “in certain areas”, adding: “My GPs are all Muslims and I have no ­problem with them at all.

“One of them is extremely nice and very, very good at her job.”

Farage described demonstrators who besieged him in Edinburgh on Thursday as “fascist scum”.

He also slammed the phone down on a BBC interviewer questioning him about Scots issues.

” Democracy means simply the bludgeoning of the people by the people for the people.”

Oscar Wilde

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Categories

