Posted by: docdenbow | January 18, 2014

David Silvester And His Invisible Friend


If you are Christian or religious please be aware that I write this below not as an attack on Christianity, but as an attack on David Silvester UKIP councillor for Henley on Thames. I respect your right to your beliefs, and hope you respect my right to mine.

“A Christian nation that abandons its faith .. . will be beset by natural disasters”

David Silvester

So according to this esteemed UKIP councillor the recent floods, winds, heavy rain and all that stuff is caused by those “Gays.” That nice Mr Cameron has said it’s okay for Gay people to marry each other, and David Silvester has decided that this will make his invisible friend unhappy so he will flood the very areas where he is hoping his reactionary party of xenophobes will get votes.

A right pisser that is.

SS Gay

This is another spectacular own goal from this raggle taggle bunch of chinless losers led by the terminally dull Nigel Farage. Mind you this is a new low for his mob of intellectual dwarves. Mind you Farage’s minions have issued a statement to the media  by telling HuffPost:

“If the media are expecting UKIP to either condemn or condone someone’s personal religious views they will get absolutely no response.”

Call me a dunce if you will, but this is muddled thinking in the extreme. This is the party that condemn people of other religions as being “reactionary” or “dangerous” because of their beliefs.

Listen you bunch of bloody hypocritical so called Christian bastards, have ever read The Bible? Do you ever practice Christian principles in your lives or is turning up to church once a week to be seen shaking hands with the Parson enough to make you a Christian? Well, is it?

I’ll tell you a little story shall I Mr Silvester?

This is from a book I read once (well more than once to be honest)

“A lawyer stood up “Who is my neighbour?”
Jesus answered, “A certain man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and he fell among robbers, who both stripped him and beat him, and departed, leaving him half dead. By chance a certain priest was going down that way. When he saw him, he passed by on the other side. In the same way a Levite also, when he came to the place, and saw him, passed by on the other side. But a certain Samaritan, as he travelled, came where he was. When he saw him, he was moved with compassion, came to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. He set him on his own animal, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him. On the next day, when he departed, he took out two denarii, and gave them to the host, and said to him, ‘Take care of him. Whatever you spend beyond that, I will repay you when I return.’ Now which of these three do you think seemed to be a neighbour to him who fell among the robbers?”
The lawyer said, “He who showed mercy on him.”
Then Jesus said to him, “Go and do likewise.

Ah, but the UKIP Christians would say that the beaten up bloke was a Romanian or a Pole or an illegal immigrant so he got what was coming to him. Okay, that’s as maybe but where where does it say a man kissing another man will cause the Thames to burst its’ banks and there to be big waves in Aberystwyth? To the best of my knowledge it doesn’t actually say that anywhere in the Bible. In that case we have a prophet amongst us. David Silvester is not alone in making proclamations based on religion. He’s not the first and he will not be the last. We’ve seen them come, we’ve seen them go. Some stick around for a bit others don’t. I want to think a bit about David Silvester’s statement.

So how does he know about this weather and gay marriage stuff? Oh yes, I know….he’s a prophet so……..

God or Jesus told him.

Wonder whether it was phone, text, email, Skype? Did God send an Angel or even turn up himself or did he delegate the job out to JC? Wonder what God or JC said that made David Silvester link gay marriage to bad weather? More to the point why did God choose to convey His message to the world via the UKIP councillor for Henley on Thames? Does God have a sense of humour and thought that he’d do this for a laugh?

Look at it like this, let’s say that I’m a card carrying Bible thumping Christian. Whether or not I like the idea of same sex marriages is my business. My religious beliefs are between me and my God. I would be very angry to find that a bigot was trying to hijack my faith by spouting homophobic rubbish. What gives him the right to speak for me? Has God, my Christian God given him the ultimate authority? How dare he assume that he can speak for God? My God.

When it comes to religion I’m not sure what I am. I don’t believe in a God as such, but I do believe that there is something that binds (or should bind) the human race together. When it comes to “organized” religion, I am just not there. Not there at all. I love Cathedrals and edifices built in the name of religion, the spirit of the craftsmen that built them. The history attached to them. A house of God? I’m not sure, I’m not sure that Gloucester or Canterbury Cathedrals are any more places of God than the Pyramids on the Giza Plateau. What I do know is that any God worth his salt would not oppose Gays or Gay marriage for that matter. I also know that any God would not see half of this planet starve and living in grinding poverty whilst the other half spend their days eating burgers and wondering what tablet computer to buy next. Part of the human condition is to feel love, why do religions around the world find it so odd that a man would want to spend his life with another man or a woman wish to spend her life with another woman. In the grand scheme of things (whatever that scheme is) what does it matter? There are far more important issues that need to be addressed.

Ask yourself this. What offends you the most? Seeing to men or two women holding hands when they’re in Tesco’s or children living in poverty? There are 3.5 million children living in poverty in the UK today. That’s 27 per cent of children. There are even more serious concentrations of child poverty at a local level: in 100 local wards, for example, for example, between 50 and 70 per cent of children are growing up in poverty. Have a look at this – Child Poverty Facts

Why doesn’t David Silvester’s God do something about this? Is this another of God’s punishments?

Listen Dave mate, I’m going off your God in a big way. Anyway isn’t your God a bloke? And Jesus was a bloke wasn’t he?

So worshipping Jesus, if you’re a man, is a bit Gay isn’t it? So that’s why it’s raining men.

Ciao for Now

Denbow

Enhanced by Zemanta
Responses

  1. 1) welcome back
    2) gay marriage opposition is like being opposed to marriage which is stupido 😎 my 9 year old daughters words not mine
    3) far better to ban sleeping on sofas before the night is over (ref: mr R Saunders, worlds biggest lightweight)

  2. Without wishing to argue with you, I just thought I’d point out a few things:

    You write, “Listen you bloody hypocritical so called Christian bastards, have you ever read the Bible?”

    Actually it looks like David Silvester has read the bible. Leviticus 18:20 clearly states “You shall not lie with a male as with a woman. It is an abomination.” (New King James Version). This, or a similar passage, must be what he is basing his belief that homosexuality is wrong on. You can’t criticise a Christian for believing what is genuinely written in the bible can you? People are entitled to their beliefs, and this is clearly not an idea he just came up with himself out of thin air- he is following what is written in the sacred text of his religion. Why in this country are people’s beliefs only respected if you are part of a minority group or your views conform to socially accepted norms? Remember that before 1967 the social norm was that homosexuality was illegal. Silvester has chosen not to look to society to guide his values (can you blame him since they are so changeable?) but to Christianity who’s laws do not change.

    Silvester himself said,”I believe as a Christian I should love gay people and indeed, I do.”

    Jesus told us to “love one another as I have loved you”, and it sounds like Silvester has every intention of obeying this command (after all you can love a person but not love their lifestyle); but he is also concerned with “spreading the word of God” which is a big part of what being a real Christian is. Being Christian isn’t simply something between one person and God- it can’t be, that’s not what it’s about. And it certainly isn’t just about turning up at church once a week (though there are some who do sadly think this way) it’s about living and breathing it every day of your life. To have a spiritual belief is really to BELIEVE and Silvester must have thought that he was doing his Christian duty by warning of the dangers of flouting God’s law.

    However- and this is a big “but”- this passage about homosexuality is from Leviticus, part of the Old Testament, and many Christians believe that the strict rules found in this part of the bible no longer apply after Christ came and established the New Covenant. It seems like Silvester thinks that the old rules still apply.

    Personally I think that the important thing is to love one another and leave the judging up to God. But this does not mean that anything goes, we should strive to live according to God’s will, not our own.

    • Laura,

      Firstly I’d like to thank you for reading my posting and for taking the time to reply.

      I have read your comments with interest and I understand the points that you are making. However, when it comes to religious beliefs I must point out to you that I have none. That doesn’t mean to say that I do not respect the views of others and I think, as you do, “the important thing is to love one another,” but when it comes to judging I am not qualified to do so.

      Believe it or not I do have some respect for Mr Silvester and his faith but there are times when silence is a virtue especially if you’re a politician. If his faith is sufficient to support him at this time when the media (and people like me) are ridiculing his remarks then part of me is envious.

      I truly believe that you can live what some people would refer to a “Christian Life” as a non believer by living according to morality and care for others and I hope that I’m one of those people.

      Finally the thought that same sex marriages have caused storms etc is laughable as far as I am concerned and he has damaged himself, his political party and the less fundamental Christian community as far as I’m concerned.

      Just a few thoughts

      Denbow

  3. […] David Silvester And His Invisible Friend […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

