Posted by: docdenbow | September 28, 2013

America – Land Of The Free (F*** Yeah!)


Quotes from Team America World Police

“NEWS REPORTER

Team America has once again pissed off the entire world by blowing up half of Cairo”

America, the United States Of America, the good old US Of A, the States, name that vast country what you like, to me it matters little but what does matter is how the world views the USA. Now I’m not going to launch into a diatribe of lengthy political philosophy. Neither am I going to discuss the views of countries and sects and sub groups and extremists. I aim to neither attack nor defend anyone, just merely state my point of view. That’s right my point of view. I have a right to my point of view whether I keep that point to myself or share it. I don’t consider myself to be anything other than what facts clearly show that I am which is a middle aged man with no influence whatsoever on the great wide world.

However, that been said I was rummaging through the internet when I came across a Facebook page that I found both puzzling and more than a little bit disturbing. I’ve looked through the postings on it several times and such is the nature of many of the postings I am left both dizzy and breathless. The level of Right Wing quasi religious posturing is, to me at least, absolutely sickening. The fact that this page has damn close to 100,000 likes scares me to be honest. No it doesn’t scare me, it absolutely terrifies me. The bigotry and racial hatred is thinly disguised as patriotism and the word of God. These people are not a country, a sect, a sub-group of extremists they in fact ordinary folk. So, on this Facebook page we see the users expressing their thanks to the Armed Forces for fighting for their freedom. What the f*ck is that supposed to mean? I’m frankly baffled, I really am. I have no idea or perception of what that actually means. Why does a country of the size and power of the USA need anyone to fight for its freedom? Who is threatening it? I have no idea. Really, I have no idea. Is it the Borg? Klingons? Is Khan leading a crack squad? No I don’t think that it’s anyone from the realms of sci-fi that’s threatening the USA. On that score the “Good Ol’ Boys” are quite safe. I don’t dispute the bravery and the selflessness of the Armed Forces, but why are they fighting?

Then there’s me, one man, one voice, one heathen irreligious bastard………….I don’t feel the need to join up and wave any flag or claim that any God is with me.

“I don’t need nobody
Sayin’ their party speaks for me
Keep your lies and your compromise
I got enough of my own personality”
Steve Van Zandt – No More Parties

I know what I think, I know where I stand on many issues. Yet for all of this I’m not blinkered or intransigent. I’m not dogmatic and my views are not coloured by race or religion or political ideals for that matter. My views are coloured by me, that’s all – me. My life experience and conclusions I draw using my brain. I couldn’t give a shit if what I think puts me out on a limb, I’m not asking anyone to agree me.  All I’m asking is for people, the world, friends, enemies and strangers to respect the fact that I have opinions. My thoughts and opinions I keep to myself and it’s quite rare that I will share them. I hope that most of my opinions are based on evidence. I would be unhappy with myself if I suspected that there was any prejudice or bigotry or myopia involved. I don’t hide behind some God to justify my thoughts. I abhor war, violence and all that entails.  I believe

“SPOTTSWOODE

Team, this is all my fault. I was overzealous in Cairo. I let racism cloud my judgement. I was so sure the ultimate terrorist was Middle Eastern, but I didn’t realize he was a goddamn Gook. I’ll never be a racist again.”

The way I see it, the freedom that the American Armed Forces are fighting for is the freedom of the USA to impose its will on the world.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal….”

But some are more equal than others, n’est-ce pas?

F*ck Yeah!

Ciao For Now,

Denbow

P.S. And here’s the Facebook page

Leave a Reply

Categories

