Posted by: docdenbow | July 1, 2013

I’m From The Black Country & Proud!


I’ve not been writing at all in the past week or so, real life has managed to get in the way. Real life, eh? That’s a funny term that I’ve just used. Isn’t every aspect of my life real? Isn’t every aspect of your life real? Apparently not as we constantly find the need to add an adjective to preface our “lives.” Family, private, sex are three that spring to mind immediately and I guess you can add real to that list. Why do we do it? Do we need to build a facade of privacy around ourselves so that we may hide from our fellows aspects of ourselves? How many times have you seen someone apparently carrying the weight of the world on their shoulders and when you ask just what the matter is are then told that it’s “private” or “personal,” or even worse that they can’t tell you?

I recently read a blog by the delightfully named Orienteering Girl Click Here To Read where she discussed her issues with and views on esteem. A lot of what she says can be applied not only to me, but also to you. I wander around on occasions worrying that people don’t like me or consider me to be some middle aged buffoon clinging on for dear life to his youth with his spiky hair and manner of dress. However, it has to be said that most of the time I really could not give a flying f*ck what people think of me. I try (and succeed I think) to treat people in the way that I would like like them to treat me. If they don’t I make a mental note to say “f*ck you” in my mind when I meet them and treat them with kindly with equanimity.

Like Tom Sawyer I will draw a line in the sand that MUST NOT be crossed.I will point out that the line has been crossed and am prepared to receive apologies with good grace. Should no apology be forthcoming then the individual becomes, as far as I am concerned one of “The Walking Dead.” If that makes me sound as if “I’m up my own *rs*” then so be it. Remember what I said, most of the time I couldn’t give a flying f*ck what people think of me.

As some of my friends and work colleagues occasionally stick their little noses into this, my own weird world of self obsession, from time to time I really should not let on what really pushes me over the edge with into the “f*ck you* mode with such alacrity. I’ve been debating for the last two paragraphs whether I should write it down, or is it too personal, private? It’s not sex related and it’s not family, but I do have to say that if you criticize my family or my dog and you’re toast. In fact I’m not really a touchy sort of chap, I resent been talked down to as if I’m an idiot but I can put up with that as there are quite a few pompous twats out there.

I think the time has come for me to share with you the thing above all others that f*cks me right off. It’s simple two words. Just two words. Imagine that, two words can be uttered to ol’ Denbow and if you do he will get p*ssed off and become mightily offended and wish to bear arms against the miscreant. As a preface to the unveiling of these two words let me say that rarely are they put together and aimed maliciously in my direction, but it does not in any way shape or form stop me from taking offence. Why, I don’t know, but I just do.

57 seconds in is where it all happens……

Anyway the two words are :

KIPPER TIE

Yes “kipper tie,” these two words annoy to such an extent that I become angry. These two words apparently allude to the fact that I was born and brought in Wolverhampton, the Black Country, and if you wish to get a refreshing cuppa there all you need to do is to wander into a wander into a cafe and utter the words “Kipper Tie.” I suggest someone from outside of the Black Country tries it. (hope you’ve got BUPA)

yamyam

I find this p*ss taking of the way that I speak, in the manner that it has been done and can be done to be offensive. I can’t call it racist but it feels like it. I thought the days of xenophobic p*ss taking were long gone, but evidently not. Ah, I hear you say “you should learn to laugh at yourself,” well my friends I do. I have tried to take the jibes good naturedly and with the humour with which they’re intended but that doesn’t alter the fact that p*ss taking about my accent really annoys me.

SO THERE

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Responses

  1. Cant wait for a catch up about your trip once you rejoin us back in work denbow…over a nice mug of coffee…better safe than sorry. 😉 welcome home doc.

  2. Enjoyed reading this post and thank you for the pingback. Be yourself and enjoy whatever life throws at you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

