Posted by: docdenbow | June 2, 2013

Rocky Balboa Vs Hamlet


“It ain’t about how hard you hit, it’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.

How much you can take and keep moving forward.”

“To be, or not to be, that is the question:

Whether ’tis Nobler in the mind to suffer

The Slings and Arrows of outrageous Fortune,

Or to take Arms against a Sea of troubles,

And by opposing end them: to die, to sleep

No more; and by a sleep, to say we end

The Heart-ache, and the thousand Natural shocks

That Flesh is heir to?”

Two great quotes. From sources that are poles apart, yet they say a great deal about your lives, and especially my life. I hope you’re not like me. I’m not Rocky Balboa, I can’t be hit and keep moving forward. I’ve had the fight beaten out of me down the years. Years of disappointment and social unpopularity have put paid to that. I can’t keep going forward anymore. I don’t want to keep going forward. I have what I have and I am what I am. I’m happy to be treading water in the Sea of troubles. I have no desire, no burning wish to oppose the slings and arrows that come flying towards me. I have my shield, my shield of privacy, a shield that hides the real me from those who are merely acquaintances. The shield is lowered when I enter my home and am surrounded by my family and my true friends. So do I truly care anymore of such minutiae of life that always ends, for me, in heartache? As hard as I try I so often fail to impress, cannot find it within myself to join in and as a result I’m just perceived as a person not worth bothering with.

My problem is that despite my protestations that I don’t care about these things, that I’m not like Rocky anymore, I still live by the maxim “don’t let the bastards grind you down.” I tend to dwell on and worry about things to such an extent that I find it difficult to take the necessary action to remove these obstacles that lie in my way. I’m good at giving advice and talk a good “fight” but the reality is talk is cheap, very cheap. I’ll just muddle on, trying to give my best and try to stop worrying. I think what I need to do is really improve my self image – the way I perceive myself. Perhaps it’s because I don’t like myself, if I don’t I cannot in all conscience to expect others to like me.

So what’s bought all this on? Well that is between me and myself as I’m often, no always, accused of being miserable and a moaner when I voice my concerns and general malcontent. That malcontent has amplified my views on so many things that I have seen and read on the news. The news in the past couple of weeks has illustrated what a vile cesspit of a world we inhabit. All of this is compounded by the manner of news coverage. Stirring the pots of prejudice and hostility like the Three Witches in Macbeth in order to sell newspapers to manipulate the slack jawed Middle England masses. The dual morality of the press makes me want to puke, yet as a moth to the flame I cannot resist looking. Are we, collectively, too stupid to realize when we are being force fed sh*t by the press day in and day out. I mean who really gives a toss about the size of Jordan’s t*ts, or that Michael Douglas’ throat cancer was caused by his love of cunniligus? Is this what constitutes news? Evidently so as the Daily Fail runs with “stories” like these on a daily basis.

What can I say?

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Responses

  1. You have to stop reading that shit, apart from it’s propaganda/know thy enemy aspect.

  2. stop moaning and start writing – http://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2013/06/02/americas-greatest-affliction-the-presstitute-media-paul-craig-roberts/


Leave a Reply

Categories

