Posted by: docdenbow | October 24, 2012

Good On You Frankie Boyle


A few weeks ago I was very critical of Frankie Boyle on this blog. I went as far as writing an open letter which was read by a good few hundred people, some agreed – I know this from the comments – I suppose many others didn’t and thought that I was a prissy namby pamby dyed in the wool Middle England Daily Mail reading moron, but no one commented to show their dissent so I don’t know.

Anyway, I’m just a blogger with a handful of readers so I don’t suppose my opinions count for much, it’s just that Frankie’s comments during the opening ceremony of the Paralympics I felt were not funny and were pretty tasteless. I gather he got wind of my post as he blocked me on Twitter, I rather wish he hadn’t despite my initial euphoria at getting a “reaction,” but there you go.

Frankie Boyle has won £50,000 in damages from the Daily Mirror who branded him a racist. Apparently Frankie has also stated that he was giving away the damages to charity which is great news. I have not read the original article concerned but, (taken from Sky News website)

Daily Mirror publisher Mirror Group Newspapers had defended the article, which was published on July 19, 2011, claiming the “racist” description was either true or “honest comment on a matter of public interest”

There has been a rather telling statement from Frankie’s Counsel David Sherborne who admitted that

“His humour was deliberately challenging, and he would not have minded if his material had been called vile, tasteless or offensive, because that went with the territory, but he did object to being called a racist.”

Touché Frankie.

I am really glad that Frankie took on and beat the Mirror. Now given the contents of my Open Letter you may think I’m being sarcastic, but I would truly like to offer him my congratulations. The reptiles of the red tops should not be able to print opinions as fact. That’s a fact.

Well done Frankie Boyle – and this is his best joke………..and as he’s Scottish he is allowed to tell it without penalty.

On the most Scottish thing he’d ever seen: I was going through a town called Bathgate at around 11 o’clock at night. And there was a guy leaning and pissing against a front door. He then took out his keys and went inside.

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Responses

  1. I find Frankie Boyle evolved from new and edgy, to very funny, to very successful and funny, to shock for shock sake comedian. I can take him or leave him these days. He does some quality stuff and some down right awful stuff too. But like you say the newspapers shouldn’t get away with labelling him a racist. He’s right. He’s tasteless but not racist.


Leave a Reply

Categories

