Posted by: docdenbow | July 8, 2012

MY CAR MOT PART TWO


MY CAR MOT PART TWO

Following on from my last post (something I’ve never done before) where I told you about the £100 it was going to cost to get my car through its’ MOT I thought I’d continue to bore the tits off you with the ongoing saga.

Well I left with my thought of a simple £100 to get the car sorted. Well when I got to the garage the blokey there told me it was wise to change the two springs otherwise it would likely make the car’s handling “interesting.” He quoted me £175. I decided to follow his guidance. So my £25 MOT test was now going to be £175! (discount for changing the two springs) I was not a happy chappy, but hey needs must and all that – keep smiling!

So with that me and my friend Bob (who drove the car to the garage for me) set off to catch the bus home rather than spend hours hanging around in town whilst the mechanics worked on my car. I made it as far as the bus stop when my mobile phone rang. It was the garage with more bad news. Additional parts were required and that was going to push the bill up to £279! By now I felt a little bit upset but again, hey needs must and all that – keep smiling!

A few hours later I called the garage and I was told that the car would be ready with 30 minutes so we jumped on a bus to go and collect what was rapidly becoming my four wheeled money pit.
When we arrived at the garage and after a couple of “Be with you in a minute” type remarks, I stepped forward to the counter to hear the words that every motorist, especially me, dreads.

“Ah Mr Denbow,” he began, “I’m afraid that I quoted you wrong (sic) for the work on your car.”

Words such as terrific, great and marvellous ran through my mind. “Yeah,” he continued “When I said £279 that’s the price on a VW Golf, yours is a VW Polo so it’s £229. Is that okay?”

Well I was hardly going to argue was I?

Anyway, I’m going to end on a more serious note. There are people who think that someone like me shouldn’t be allowed to drive. There are many people out there who for one reason and another have driving issues that most don’t have. But just consider this. Those of us who do have “problems” admit them and take care of themselves accordingly. Over the past year I’ve seen people who apparently don’t have any medical problems drive as if they are in fairground dodgem cars. It’s these people with poor eyesight, untreated or undisclosed medical issues that shouldn’t be driving – not me. At least when I’ve had a problem I’ve surrendered my licence and sought medical advice.

Now I don’t want to rush to judgement but last night on the M4 there was a head on collision. The 82-year-old Mazda driver died at the scene and a 48 year-old man driving the Passat died later in hospital. . It’s been widely reported that one driver was travelling west on the eastbound carriageway. It’s clear as day to me that one of those people had no business whatsover behind the wheel of a car.

Draw your own conclusions…………………………

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Responses

  1. I spend an inordinate amount of time in my car, driving to a from Coventry for work or taking my boy to and from school. I do about 70 miles a day.
    Some of the clowns I see beggar belief. There are days when I think they are trying to kill me on purpose, indeed if it wasn’t for my keen observational skills and rattle snake-like reactions I would be very dead.
    Who are the perpetrators of these crimes? Chavs in knackered 3 door hatch backs? Milf in MPV’s and 4 x 4’s? Old people in Honda’s or Cockheads in big, German saloons?
    The answer is all of them. Everywhere I go there are morons who are driving too quickly, or too slowly, or like they have never sat behind the wheel of a car before!
    Do you really want to be back among that lot?

    • I love driving so much the last year has been hell although I’ve put a brave face on it.

      I’m looking forward to the joyous days of screaming “Do you think I’m clairvoyant?”at assorted dorks who make phone calls and send texts whilst driving.

      One more can I shout “wanker” at strangers and get away with – joyous days are to follow


Leave a Reply

Categories

