Posted by: docdenbow | December 29, 2011

A Small Café In Rickmansworth


Now that I’ve finally got the Cillit Bang issues off my chest, and have overcome the disappointment of discovering that Barry Scott is not real, I feel that I can move on and get on with my life once more. Get on with life? Now what does that actually mean? To me one aspect of getting on with life means going to work, going home, play with the dog; watch C.S.I. Miami go to bed. I should point out here that I finish work at 22:30 each evening, so I’m not that sad that I watch 6 hours solid of Horatio every night. Yes I’m a pretty hopeless case; but not that hopeless.

As I’ve mentioned before on this blog, life is there to be enjoyed and we should try and max out the enjoyment factor. I personally believe that this is the only shot that I will get so I should try to make the most of it. I don’t want to get to 80 (if I make it that far) and be asked –

“What did you do with your life?”
and be forced to reply,
“Watched C.S.I. Miami.”

If you take the traditional Christian ideology of meeting St. Peter at the gates of heaven upon your demise and being asked the question above, and being forced to give the answer above as you are compelled to tell the truth. I think you would be slightly embarrassed. Just a bit anyway, even if wasn’t C.S.I. Miami but Eastenders or Coronation Street. I don’t think Songs Of Praise would help either

Whether or not you have any religious convictions it is your duty to make the most of your talents and make the most of life. Watch dogs out in the park or on a beach and the sheer joy they have at just being. Their running across the sand, their jumps into the waves and their tearing back to you – tongue hanging out and tail wagging pleased just to be there on the beach.

I think the way to true happiness is to take pleasure out of everything we do. Take a pride in our work, if you like. Nothing that we do should be a chore because everything we do has a purpose for our lives. For example I may not enjoy picking up dog poo in my garden but if I want to enjoy sitting in it with a glass of Dandelion and Burdock in the summer then I need to make my garden ready. If that includes picking up the dog poo then I’ll do it and enjoy it as I am aiming to reap the reward later on.

How many of us are pleased just to be. How many of us actually think about what sort of person they are? How many people actually like themselves? More to the point how many people hide behind some religious doctrine or other which only serves to mask their total lack of humanity? I don’t want to sound like a hippy (again!) but a lot that’s wrong with this world is caused by religious indoctrination at the expense of humanity.

Does giving a Christian burial given to a starved child really and truly serve any purpose? Does each Muslim suicide bomber really deserve his 72 Concubines as a reward for the taking of innocent lives? We as a world population really need knocking into shape. Why can we not see what needs to be done?

In H2G2 Douglas Adams wrote:

“And then, one Thursday, nearly two thousand years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change, a girl sitting on her own in a small café in Rickmansworth suddenly realized what it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no one would have to get nailed to anything.”

Although this was comedic, especially when read by the late great voice of the book Peter Jones, it makes you wonder what that girl in the café really came up with.

Whatever it was she realized we need to put it to action now.

Ciao For Now

Denbow

Responses

  1. Another rattling good post Doc. However, IIRC didn’t Earth get blown up just before said girl in cafe announced her starting revelation? Keep watching the skies!

  2. No mate, Earth got demolished by the Vogons before she got chance to tell anyone what was going wrong and how the world could be made a good and happy place.

  3. Wouldn’t have made any difference……she was bluffing !!! 😉

    Gotta love Dug Adams…..I loved the Dirk Gently books. Also, my in-laws ran a small cafe in Rickmansworth. Coincidence ?? I think not…….


Leave a Reply

Categories

