Posted by: docdenbow | December 20, 2011

No New Year Resolutions For Me


At this time of the year a lot of people, both real and those in TV land look back on what’s gone before and reminisce and ruminate on the annual highs and lows. Me, I can’t really be bothered with all of that. So saying that I’ve had a few lows this year – the death of my father for one, having a recurrence of my epileptic fits as another and a couple of fantastic highs – getting to meet Glenn Hughes (ex Deep Purple, ex Black Sabbath, currently with Black Country Communion) in Birmingham and again in Cardiff where I sat in his dressing room for a half hour chatting about this and that being a standout in my sad little life. The acquisition of our little dog Daisy topped off the highs.

As I’ve said I try not to do too much on the old nostalgia front, especially as nostalgia isn’t what it used to be. Life is short enough as it is without wasting time that could be spent on enjoying new experiences rather than looking back, either in anger or fondness.However, we should never forget the past and we should celebrate the good times rather than dwell on the bad. What I am trying to say here is that it is possible to grieve over a past full of what might have beens – that’s pointless – and can be soul destroying and can destroy your life and happiness. Trust me I know. You have to move on and look forward and cherish what you have.

So as I’ve said, I’m not going to overdo the the old looking back – neither am I going to make any New Years Resolutions. They’re complete and rubbish if you ask me. I can think of nothing more stupid than making a lifestyle change on a preordained date. The only lifestyle changes that should be made on a preordained date are engagements, marriages and of course divorces! If you need to make a lifestyle change by, say, giving up smoking don’t wait for 1st January do it when it suits YOU – not to be part of the tribe.

Remember it’s your life – use it wisely.

Ciao or now

Denbow

Leave a Reply

Categories

